I was really taken with David Nicholl’s screenplay, adapted from his novel Starter for Ten and have also enjoyed his work on the scripts for the movie And When did you Last See Your Father as well as the Shakespeare Retold: Much Ado about Nothing so I was intrigued enough to give his novel One Day a try.

This has also now been adapted to the big screen, which I will no doubt have to see.  The premise of One Day is following the development of a friendship between two people, Emma and Dexter,  with a snapshot of them both on the same day over the course of 20 years, beginning as they both graduate from university in Scotland in 1988.

I developed a love-hate relationship with this book.  On one hand I was really taken with it and the quirkyness of the plot, but on the other hand I was frustrated by “will they, won’t they” turmoil.  However, that said, this has more to do with me and my expectations than it does with David Nicholls’ well-written novel.  If you like character-driven stories with believeable actions and reactions then I would confidently recommend it to you. I am about to head to my local public library to get a copy of Starter for Ten. 

For more on  David Nicholls take a look at his website http://www.davidnichollswriter.com/home.

I particularly like Emma Morley’s mix tape!

 

