Wow! The Passage is an EPIC page-turner from beginning to end! Named on the top 10 best post-apocalyptic novels list by Time Magazine, this page-turner is an absolutely riveting read, which manages to put a totally new spin on vampire lore.

My favourite novel from Stephen King is The Stand. (also on Time’s list)  This epic struggle between good and evil impacted me strongly when I first read this book some (gulp!) 30 years ago and The Passage has all of the elements that I loved about the The Stand. This isn’t however, a carbon copy of King.  It is fresh and original with a strong emphasis on the characters to tell the story.

If you want to read an excerpt from The Passage you can do that here. I’m thrilled to discover that this is the first in a trilogy planned by Cronin.  He is already working on The Twelve and I’ll be interested to see what  Fox 2000 does with the movie, apparently due for release in 2013.  You can hear and interview with Cronin here.

I loved this book!  It has pace, it keeps you guessing right up until the last page and you feel completely satisfied at the end.  Thoroughly recommended – a must-read.

